• hannahetheridge8

What are Chakras?

Updated: Aug 11, 2019

According to many cultures including Indian, Tibetan, Chinese and Japanese, chakras are energy centres within the human body that energy flows through to help it to regulate healthily, from organ function to the immune system and emotions.

Our hearts and brains are run by electrical impulses; The heart's electrical system controls the timing of your heartbeat by regulating your heart rate and heart rhythm whilst our internal electrical system works by using the cells that have built up electrical gradient or energy that can be given off to other cells by direct/neuronal transfer. Neurohormones or transmitters activate the synapses (electrical junctions) that stimulate the brain, nerve and muscle cells to become active and communicate. This allows us to think, remember, act and move.

Quoted by Psychology Today - "All living beings are energy fields manifesting through their physical form". It's no secret that our bodies are electromagnetic and this as a frequency is measured by scientists using MRI and ECG machines when looking for pathways of illness in relation to symptoms. So there lies the connection between our bodies and energy.

There are 112 chakras however there are 7 chakras which are the main junction points.

The Sanskrit word chakra means “wheel” or “vortex.” The belief is that when these wheels are turning or spinning powered by life energy, we have the ability to be at peace with ourselves - mind, body and soul or physically, mentally and emotionally. In the practice of Hatha Yoga you are working on realigning the chakras.

"If something more of what the human system is capable of needs to happen, it needs an activation. Hatha Yoga is that discipline which activates the whole system. Unfortunately, people think Hatha Yoga is an exercise or some kind of health regimen. Yoga never focuses on curing something. We only look at how this physical system can be made full-fledged. If it is full-fledged, everything will be fine. It will activate something that will lead to curative process by itself anyway." - Sadguru.

I chose this quote because when realigning the chakras with Reiki it seems to begin a better relationship with the self. For example there may be parts of your life that you are struggling with, that perhaps you want to look at - and from my own experience, it appears to provide you the space to begin that journey.

Below is an image with the location of the 7 chakras, a description of where Reiki will flow and implications of misalignment.

I hope this gives you a greater insight as to what chakras are.

As always feel free to ask questions and I will do my best to answer them.

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All